My Personal Commandments


“One must state it plainly.  Religion comes from the period where nobody–not even the mighty Democritus who concluded that all matter was made from atoms–had the smallest idea what was going on.  It comes from the bawling and fearful infancy of our species, and is a babyish attempt to meet our inescapable demand for knowledge (as well as for comfort, reassurance, and other infantile needs).  Today the least educated of my children knows much more about the natural order than any of the founders of religion, and one would like to think–though the connection is not a fully demonstrable one–that is why they seem so uninterested in sending their fellow humans to hell.” –Christopher Hitchens, excerpt from God is not great: how religion poisons everything, 2007

Moses and The Commandments

Moses and the "law"

Coming out was one of the most transformative experiences of my life, but not because of the most predictable and somewhat cliche reasons.  Yes, of course, integrating my sexual expression with my sexual desire was wonderful.  However, much more powerful for me was the actual PROCESS of coming out.  It required me to challenge my religious and cultural values, beliefs that I had inherited.  When I finally became exhausted from searching for a cure for my “affliction” I realized that what I really needed was to begin to find a way to challenge moral laziness.

The culinary equivalent to my values and morality at the time I began coming out would be something like a box of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese–cheesy, easy, mass produced, slightly stale and not overly nutritious. While I may still be a bit shy of a sumptuous gourmet seven course meal, I am sure that I have at least progressed to the level of nutritious organic home-cooked fare.

When I first started this work I was a bit baffled. But the most logical place for me to begin my exploration was with the ten commandments. Years ago if you asked me if I believed if I should follow all of the ten commandments I am quite sure that I would have blithely responded, “Of course.” Most of us in the “good” judeo-christian west are raised to believe that the ten commandments provide the fundamental moral fiber for all civilization. In reality I am not sure that most of the ten commandments have ever been a “fit” for me.

Periodically over the next few weeks I will be sharing my reinterpretation of the somewhat antiquated ten commandments. Specifically I will be chatting about the ones that I have adapted to fit MY 21st Century life, as well as the ones I have completely replaced. I don’t intend this to be a didactically pious primer–rather it is a challenge to myself to communicate my strong belief in the power of a well-examined life.

3 Comments

Filed under Gay Spirituality

3 responses to “My Personal Commandments

  1. andrea

    I started reading this and then glanced at the whole piece and felt a bit disappointed . . he’s going to talk about something that important and life-changing in just four short paragraphs? Looking forward to hearing more.

  2. Benson

    As another spiritual diner whose coming out forced a switch from easy mac to something that requires a lot more chewing (farro, perhaps?), I’m really looking forward to your upcoming posts.

  3. Susie

    See, this is exactly why you need to keep blogging. Beautiful catharsis!

Leave a comment